Open Call in ERA-NET Cofund Smart Cities and Communities/JPI Urban Europe - Deadline 17 March 2015 (pre-proposals)

The ERA-NET Cofund Smart Cities and Communities has published a Joint Call for Proposals. This ERA-NET was established by the Joint Programming Initiative (JPI) Urban Europe and the Smart Cities Member States Initiative (SC MSI) in order to initiate a transnational joint call for RDI proposals addressing new solutions in the urban field, and demonstrating the feasibility of their implementation.

Deadline: 17 March 2015 at 12:00 CET (pre-proposals);  15 September 2015 at 12:00 CET (full proposals)

Publication Date: 11 December 2014

Weblink (URL):

Short Call Abstract: 

This Call for Proposals will facilitate implementation, demonstration and testing of integrated low-carbon urban energy and transport concepts and solutions in smaller scale projects at the local level, also involving smaller districts and cities, gathering key players into partnerships that build necessary scale and scope for larger demonstration on district, municipal or regional level, complementary to the large-scale lighthouse projects already envisioned in Horizon 2020.
In order to stimulate experimentation into the smart cities and communities concept as innovation ecosystems, project proposals should integrate at least one of the following topics:

  • Smart integrated urban energy and transport systems
  • Smart tools and services for integrated urban energy and transport systems
  • Smart data, big data
  • Smart governance and smart citizens

SSH aspects:

Social and economic aspects, welfare, quality of life aspects, business-model development, cultural and privacy aspects of big data, governance concepts, participation and engagement of stakeholders

Specific participation requirements: 

Each project proposal must be submitted by a project consortium consisting of at least three eligible applicants from at least three participating countries.
Projects may be funded for a maximum of 3 years, and must start between December 2015 and March 2016.
Participating Countries: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Turkey



Social Network Login